Committee details

Heart of the South West Joint Committee (dissolved 31 December 2023)

Purpose of committee

In March 2018 the HotSW partnership (17 local authorities, two National Parks, the LEP and three clinical commissioning groups) agreed the arrangements to establish the HotSW Joint Committee.


Following the establishment of Somerset Council in April 2023, the HotSW JC constituent authorities are now:

• Dartmoor National Park Authority

• Devon County Council

• East Devon District Council

• Exeter City Council

• Exmoor National Park Authority

• Mid Devon District Council

• North Devon Council

• Plymouth City Council

• Somerset Council

• South Hams District Council

• Torbay Council

• Teignbridge District Council

• Torridge District Council

• West Devon Borough Council


The Heart of the SW LEP and the NHS are co-opted members of the HotSW Joint Committee.


Generally the Leaders of each council are the members of the Joint Committee or they may appoint a substitute or another member to represent their council.