Committee details

Heart of the South West Joint Committee

Purpose of committee

Legal status:


The HotSW Joint Committee is a Joint Committee of the local authorities listed below that comprise the HotSW area and established under Sections 101 to 103 of the Local Government Act 1972 and all other enabling legislation to undertake the functions detailed below.


Key purpose: 


The key purpose of the Joint Committee is to be the vehicle through which the HotSW partners will ensure that the desired increase in productivity across the area is achieved.  


Aims and objectives:  


The Committee is a single strategic public sector partnership providing cohesive, coherent leadership and governance to ensure delivery of the Productivity Strategy for the HotSW area.  The specific objectives of the Joint Committee are to:


a)    Improve the economy and the prospects for the region by bringing together the public, private and education sectors;


b)    Increase our understanding of the economy and what needs to be done to make it stronger;


c)    Improve the efficiency and productivity of the public sector;


d)    Identify and remove barriers to progress and maximise the opportunities /benefits available to the area from current and future government policy.   


Joint Committee Functions:


The only delegated function of the Joint Committee is the approval of the HotSW Productivity Strategy.  Additional delegated or referred functions may be proposed for the Joint Committee in the future by the Joint Committee or any of the Constituent Authorities, but shall only be agreed if approved by all of the Constituent Authorities.  


The Joint Committee shall:


(a)           Develop and agree the HotSWProductivityPlan in collaboration with the LEP.

(b)           Ensure delivery of the HotSWProductivityPlan in collaboration with the LEP and the Constituent Authorities.

(c)           Continue discussions /negotiations with the Government on the possibility of achieving devolved responsibilities, funding and related governance amendments to assist with the delivery of the Productivity Plan. Joint Committee proposals arising from these discussions /negotiations would require the formal approval of the Constituent Authorities / Partner Agencies.

(d)           Continue discussions /negotiations with theGovernment / relevant agencies tosecure deliveryofthe Government’s strategic infrastructure commitments, eg, strategic road and rail transport improvements

(e)           Work with theLEP to identifyanddeliver adjustmentsto the LEP’s democratic accountabilityand toassist theorganisationto complywiththe revised(November 2016) LEP AssuranceFramework.This includes endorsingthe LEP’s assuranceframework on behalf of the Constituent Authoritiesas and when required. However, this is subject to the Framework being formally approvedby the LEP’s AdministeringAuthority.

(f)             Ensure thatadequateresources (includingstaffandfunding) are allocated by the Constituent Authorities toenabletheobjectives in (a) to (e) above to be delivered.




The Constituent Authorities listed below appoint 1 member and 1 named substitute member to the Joint Committee on an annual basis.  Each Constituent Authority member has 1 vote including substitute members and they have authority to speak and vote on matters on behalf of their authority.    Political balance rules do not apply to the Joint Committee membership.

Dartmoor National Park Authority 

Devon County Council 

East Devon District Council

Exeter City Council

Exmoor National Park Authority

Mendip District Council 

Mid Devon District Council

North Devon Council

Plymouth City Council

Sedgemoor District Council

Somerset County Council

South Hams District Council 

South Somerset District Council

Torbay Council

Taunton Deane Borough Council

Teignbridge District Council

Torridge District Council  

West Devon Borough Council

West Somerset Council.


In addition to the Constituent Authorities the partner organisations listed below also appoint 1 co-opted representative and 1 named substitute co-opted representative to the Joint Committee.   Co-opted members do not have voting rights:


Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership (the LEP)

NHS Northern, Eastern and Weston Devon Clinical Commissioning Group

NHS South Devon and Torbay Clinical Commissioning Group

NHS Somerset Clinical Commissioning Group


The Joint Committee may co-opt further non-voting representatives from the private, public and/or voluntary sectors at any time.


Administering Authority:


Somerset County Council has been appointed by the Constituent Authorities as the Administering Authority for the Joint Committee.


Contact information

Support officer: Julian Gale, Democratic Services, Somerset County Council. 01823 357628

Postal address:
Julian Gale
Democratic Services
Somerset County Council
County Hall Taunton